Posted by: Gavin Heward | 12/01/2013

The Benefits of Working with a Mentor

Mentoring in action!

Mentoring in action!

As I sit down to write this and think about all of the different mentors and coaches I’ve had throughout my life, I am filled with gratitude. Learning from someone who has been through what you are going through, has learnt “the hard way”, or is trained specifically and operates where YOU want yourself to be is truly a helping hand out of the mud!

One of those people for me is Mark Buckley. From the first time I met Mark (years ago), he always encouraged me to do what I felt naturally compelled to do and that is seek the truth. Research, research, research! And, do what I love! Sure, he taught me so much about the mechanics of the human body, the relationship between the sub-conscious mind and results in the gym, and much more, but it was the bigger things like encouraging me to create my own path, follow my own rules, find and use the truth, and just get results with my clients by really, truly knowing my stuff. So, Thanks Mark, I’m sure we have many an inspiring conversation to come!

Another is Helen Ryan. She opened my eyes to certain thought patterns and beliefs that I was carrying which no longer served me, or were restricting me from my goals. She reminded me that I truly am amazing at what I do (aww, shucks!), and that my life really can be everything I want it to be without sacrificing any particular aspect, or losing time with my precious family.

There are many more, but in the last 12 months those two people have impacted my life the most.

So from my point of view, the benefits to engaging a mentor are these;

  • You LEARN from someone active & successful in their field
  • You are encouraged and supported on your own path, be it personal or professional (or both!)
  • Your training can be tailored to your specific goals
  • Your Mentor has already been where you are so can offer advice, help, and coaching through all aspects of difficulty
  • You receive a cumulation of information, all relevant to your goals
  • It’s interactive, it’s personal, and can even be face-to-face!
  • You are shown new viewpoints, knowledge you didn’t even know was available, and information you might not have even known was relevant!
  • More often than not, you experience a life-changing “Aha!” moment (or ten!)
  • And finally, more often than not, your Mentor will become, or touch your life, as a friend 🙂
One-on-One Mentoring

One-on-One Mentoring

So, as I begin with the first student undertaking my new Mentor Program, designed specifically for Personal Trainers & health professionals (right where I began!), I sit with a smile knowing that not only will the individuals I teach become better at what they do, but each of the people they work with will benefit from the results of the program and my years of study and research! It doesn’t get any better than that!

Have you ever used a mentor? If not, what held you back?

Have a great day!
Gavin


Leave a comment

Categories